List Of World Cup Winners In Cricket

List Of World Cup Winners In Cricket


The Cricket World Cup is a sporting spectacle that captivates millions of fans around the globe. This tournament celebrates the spirit of cricket, where teams from various nations battle it for the coveted title. In this article, we will explore the evolution of the Cricket World Cup and provide a comprehensive list of winners from 1975 to 2019, including the ICC Cricket World Cup and Women’s Cricket World Cup. We’ll delve into the history, records, and the impact of these victories.

Evolution of Cricket World Cup:

The Cricket World Cup has come a long way since its inception. It all started in 1975 when the first Men’s Cricket World Cup was held in England. Over the years, the tournament has evolved, encompassing more teams and fans and providing unforgettable moments.

List of Cricket World Cup Winners Since 1975:

Let’s take a trip down memory lane, starting with the list of champions from the Men’s Cricket World Cup since 1975:

  1. 1975 – West Indies
  2. 1979 – West Indies
  3. 1983 – India
  4. 1987 – Australia
  5. 1992 – Pakistan
  6. 1996 – Sri Lanka
  7. 1999 – Australia
  8. 2003 – Australia
  9. 2007 – Australia
  10. 2011 – India
  11. 2015 – Australia
  12. 2019 – England

List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winners:

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket World Cup is the pinnacle of One Day International (ODI) cricket. It brings together cricketing nations worldwide to compete for the championship.

Here is a list of all the ICC Cricket World Cup winners:

  • 1975 – West Indies
  • 1979 – West Indies
  • 1983 – India
  • 1987 – Australia
  • 1992 – Pakistan
  • 1996 – Sri Lanka
  • 1999 – Australia
  • 2003 – Australia
  • 2007 – Australia
  • 2011 – India
  • 2015 – Australia
  • 2019 – England

List of All Cricket World Cup Winners:

In addition to the ICC Cricket World Cup, there are other cricketing events, such as the Women’s Cricket World Cup and the ICC T20 World Cup. Let’s take a look at all the World Cup winners in cricket.

Journey from 1975 to 2019:

The journey from the first Men’s Cricket World Cup in 1975 to the 2019 edition has been marked by thrilling contests, unforgettable moments, and the emergence of cricketing legends. The tournament has grown in stature and popularity, with each edition leaving a lasting impact on the cricketing world.

Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners:

While the Men’s Cricket World Cup commands significant attention, the Women’s Cricket World Cup has its legacy. This competition has seen several teams rise to prominence. The list of Women’s Cricket World Cup winners includes teams like England, Australia, and more.

World Cup Winners in Cricket ODIs:

One Day Internationals (ODIs) have become a cornerstone of international cricket, and the Cricket World Cup in this format is highly competitive. The winners of the Cricket World Cup in ODIs have showcased remarkable skills and teamwork.

List of Cricket T20 World Cup Winners Since 2007:

The ICC T20 World Cup is a relatively new addition to international cricket. It focuses on the shortest format of the game, providing fast-paced action and thrilling encounters. The list of T20 World Cup winners includes a mix of established and emerging cricketing nations.

Rise of Cricket World Cup Since 1983:

1983 marked a turning point in the history of the Cricket World Cup when India, led by Kapil Dev, won the championship. This victory propelled cricket to new heights in the country and ignited the passion of millions of fans.

Key Moments in World Cup History:

The Cricket World Cup has witnessed several key moments that have left an indelible mark on the sport. From famous victories to unforgettable performances, these moments define the tournament’s legacy.

Records and Milestones:

Throughout the history of the Cricket World Cup, players and teams have set numerous records and achieved incredible milestones. From the highest run-scorers to the leading wicket-takers, these records serve as a testament to the talent and dedication of cricketers.

The Impact of World Cup Victories:

Cricket World Cup victories go beyond the field. They inspire generations, promote the sport in new regions, and foster a sense of unity among fans. These victories have had a profound impact on the cricketing world.

The Future of Cricket World Cup:

As the cricketing landscape continues to evolve, the future of the Cricket World Cup holds exciting possibilities. New formats, technologies, and a global fanbase ensure the tournament remains a centerpiece of international cricket.


In conclusion, the Cricket World Cup is not just a tournament; it’s a celebration of cricket’s rich heritage. From its humble beginnings in 1975 to today, it has grown into a global phenomenon. The list of World Cup winners in cricket reflects the spirit, talent, and dedication of cricketing nations. These victories will continue to shape the future of cricket, uniting fans in their passion for the game.


How many times has India won the Cricket World Cup?

India has won the Cricket World Cup twice, in 1983 and 2011.

Which team has the most ICC Cricket World Cup titles?

Australia holds the record for the most ICC Cricket World Cup titles, with five championships.

Has any team won consecutive Cricket World Cups?

Yes, the West Indies won the first two Cricket World Cups in 1975 and 1979.

When did the Women’s Cricket World Cup begin?

The Women’s Cricket World Cup began in 1973.

Which team has won the most Women’s Cricket World Cups?

Australia has won the most Women’s Cricket World Cups, with multiple titles.

Must Read:

How Long Are Volleyball Games?
How To Wash Football Gloves?
How To Draw A Football Helmet?
What Is Red Zone In Football? A Beginner’s Guide
What Does P.A.T. Stand For In Football?
What Does DB Mean In Football?
What Countries Call Football Soccer?
What Does PAT Stand For In Football?
What Is A Foul In Football?
What Does RZ Mean In Fantasy Football?
How Can I Watch Thursday Night Football?
How Many Meters Is A Football Field?
How Long Is A Football Season? A Comprehensive Guide
What Is Flex In Fantasy Football?
How Many Square Feet In A Football Field?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *